What Happens to Your Passwords When You Delete Your Password Manager App

Key Takeaways

  • Password managers use encryption to securely retailer your login credentials and delicate info, however the kind of encryption used can fluctuate. Test what encryption your password supervisor makes use of earlier than storing your knowledge.
  • Relying in your password supervisor, your passwords could also be saved offline, also called chilly storage. This prevents cyberattacks that depend on an web connection and entails storing passwords regionally in your gadget with on-device encryption.
  • If you delete the app of a password supervisor, it might not essentially delete your account. Some password managers retailer passwords on distant servers, so your passwords should be saved even when the app is eliminated out of your gadget. Search for an account deletion possibility in your app settings earlier than uninstalling to make sure your knowledge is correctly deleted.


Password managers are invaluable for secure password storage, however what occurs while you delete your app or account? Do your passwords stay someplace in our on-line world, or are they deleted completely?


The place Do Password Managers Retailer Your Knowledge?

If you entrust a password supervisor together with your login credentials, cost particulars, and different delicate info, it is value realizing how this knowledge is saved.

Trusted password managers encrypt passwords throughout storage in order that even when they’re accessed maliciously, they cannot be used with out the decryption key. Many password managers use the extremely safe AES-256 encryption customary that has by no means been cracked. However this is not a rule, so it is best to test what sort of encryption your password supervisor makes use of earlier than storing delicate info.

Relying in your password supervisor, your passwords can also be saved offline. That is also called chilly storage and prevents cyberattacks that depend on an web connection. Chilly storage typically entails storing the passwords regionally (i.e., in your gadget), utilizing on-device encryption.

Any respected password supervisor may have protocols to make sure that nobody besides you’ll be able to see your saved passwords. This fashion, even workers cannot see the delicate knowledge saved on behalf of customers. Nonetheless, within the case of a cyberattack, passwords that are not saved regionally may very well be accessed, in addition to decryption keys.

The place Does Your Knowledge Go After You Delete Your Password Supervisor?

bundle of silver door keys

If you now not need to use a password supervisor, chances are you’ll merely delete the app or delete your account. Nonetheless, it is essential to notice that these aren’t at all times the identical.

For those who’re utilizing a password supervisor that shops passwords regionally (i.e., in your smartphone solely), deleting the app will delete all of your saved knowledge. But when your chosen password supervisor shops delicate info on a distant server, deleting the app may take away the software program out of your gadget, not your password supervisor account.

Consider social media apps like Fb and Instagram. Deleting one among these apps does not delete your account, as you’ll be able to log again in upon re-installation. The situation may be comparable with sure password managers; chances are you’ll delete the app, however your on-line account nonetheless exists.

On this case, your passwords could proceed to be saved by the password supervisor no matter whether or not the app is in your telephone. So, it is best to search for an account deletion possibility in your app account settings earlier than uninstalling the software program.

Alternatively, chances are you’ll come throughout blockchain-based password managers, which retailer passwords in a tokenized type on a blockchain. This implies your passwords aren’t saved regionally however are nonetheless in a safe atmosphere that makes use of encryption and decentralization.

What to Think about Earlier than Deleting Your Password Supervisor

phone screen showing app deletion option

If you wish to use a unique password storage technique or just like the look of one other app, it is sensible to delete your password supervisor. However there are some issues to contemplate earlier than doing this.

  1. Be sure to’re deleting your password supervisor account, not simply the app if you wish to swap password managers completely.
  2. Be certain your new technique of password storage is safe. You might be tempted by a free app, as an example, however this app could not supply the identical degree of safety as a paid possibility. Not all password managers are the identical, and password supervisor hacks are in no way unusual. So, for those who’re at present utilizing a good app, ensure the one you turn to may be trusted.
  3. Keep away from extremely susceptible storage choices, resembling your notes app or a draft electronic mail. These strategies aren’t designed for safe storage, due to this fact making your passwords extremely susceptible to loss, be it through a technical error or cyberattack.

If in case you have a LastPass account and need to swap to a much less susceptible various, try our information on deleting your LastPass account.

Deleting your password supervisor is not essentially the identical as deleting a social media or purchasing app. This sort of software program is designed for storing extremely delicate info, so it is essential to assume twice earlier than uninstalling or deleting your account.

Data: This put up is rewritten with inspiration from the unique URL. Please click on on the supply hyperlink to learn the unique put up

Supply Hyperlink : https://www.makeuseof.com/what-happens-passwords-when-delete-password-manager-app/

Related Articles

Back to top button
close